Friday, July 28, 2006

Broken Brother

Soooo. no updates in some time, hey? mmm yes. Well. No excuse. I just haven't been bothered typing on my phone, and time hasn't permitted me creating a post while at Safe Installations.
Anyway.
What's happened since last post?
Lemme think...
Aha! Concerts!
So Mogwai were touring last week, and I freakin love Mogwai. But noone wanted to go with me, so I never bought tickets. I'd finally decided to go by myself when Ally messaged me telling me that she was selling some tickets to the Wolfmother gig the same night of the Mogwai concert, two tickets to be precise, and at half price too. So knowing that Ross wanted to go, but didn't get tickets, and knowing that Boggle quite liked Wolfmother, I decided to sell them the tickets, and I'd go off to see Mogwai (as I've already seen Wolfmother 3 times before - although they do still kick arse). So we arranged to meet up before hand for a $7 steak, and then head off to our respective concerts.
Only then I go check to see if Mogwai tickets were still available (they were the previous week), and of course, they weren't. Fuck.
So I met up with Ross and Boggle anyway, had my $7 steak, and got a lift to the Metro (where Mogwai were playing) to wait out the front and see if I could bum any tickets. Nope, I couldn't. I thought I'd line up and see if there was a chane that there were some at the door, and was denied, but when I turned around to leave, the bouncer stopped me and said that I need to get stamped. I should have replied, "oh, thank you" and seen if I could have been given a stamp, but instead I followed the path of boring honesty, and simply said "no I don't, I'm leaving." Fool. That would have been the best if I were able to get in for free to a sold out concert because of a small mistake on the part of a bouncer, but no.
Anyway, so that night ended in disappointment. I ended up meeting up with Mum at Chatswood (it was a Thursday), and I went home that night.
So having the originally been faced with the possibility of 2 concerts, I ended up getting none. Sucks. Also, it turns out that it was the lead singer of Wolfmother's 30th Birthday that night, and the boys from Jackass made an appearance to wish him a happy birthday, and threw cake into the crowd. And it also apparently rocked. And Briony was there. Fuck arse.
The next night was the eels concert with Mum, Nat, Linden, Monique, and Jess. It kicked fucking arse. Totally kicked fucking arse. I really love the eels live. Every time I've seen them they've been totally different, and I really love that in a band. This time Mr. E didn't talk to the crowd, but rather used a security guard (who was actually the bass player from the last show I saw them) as the in-between between him and the crowd. It was totally awesome. During the first or second song, he was just standing there, surveying the crowd, and all of a sudden, he starts busting out these Chuck Norris moves! Fucken hilarious! He was even kicking above his head! After doing them for the duration of the song, he pulls out an eels bandana, ties it around his head, and meditates for a little while on the stage. The next song he was pulling boxing moves. The next few songs he stood there and surveyed again, or played some accompaniment on metal bars, maracas or some such other instrument. At the end of some songs he would interject a little random nugget of wisdom. Golden. My favourite part was at one point he put a latex glove on his right hand, and walked up to speak to Mr. E., who then pointed someone out in the crowd. The security guy (Big Al), the walked down to that person and high fived them. Mr. E then pointed someone else out, and Big Al went over and high fived them. Classic. Later on he also did a similar thing excpet with whipped cream in audience member's mouths instead of the high fives. Loved it.
Did I mention the opening band? Well, I know that I haven't so I'm not so sure why I asked that question.
Anyway.... they were called Smoosh, and they were a couple (either twins or sisters) of 14 year old girls who knew how to rock. I ended up buying their album. They also came out for the last few songs with the eels. Totally cool. For "I Like Birds," Big Al would lift one of them up to his microphone so they could sing the line "birds."
I liked it alot.
The only disappointment was that they didn't play as many encores as the other times. I hear it was because there is a midnight music curfew for music at the metro. Bummed.
After the concert was Denise's Housewarming party in Balmain. The only present she requested was bad fridge magnets. Earlier that day I'd made my way down to Botany Variety store, and found two bad magnets. One was a piece of Broccoli, and the other was a singing and flashing happy Y2K magnet; I won the best magnet of the night award for that sucker. I didn't end up getting to Denise's until about 1am maybe, and by then most people had left, but I had myself a beer there, and then went to the pub, and had myself a beer there, and then went back to Denise's and had myself a smoke before going to bed at maybe 4:30am. Turns out that at about that time, Mum and Peter were only just getting home to the Hunter House. Sucks for them. So I had myself a good night, despite Denise's friend Pat dating a total dork... but that's another story.
The next day I was to meet up with Brendan and Leanne because they had a special present for me.
The easiest way to get to Hornsby from Balmain is actually to go to the city first (10 minutes by bus), and then pop on a train to Hornsby. So I went to the city, and was distracted by all the wonderful things there. I ended up buying Pink Floyds "Animals" for $10 (I love you Dirt Cheap CDs!), and walked around finding out how much it would be to replace my mp3 player (which isn't available anymore... I actually already knew this, I was just hoping that some shopkeeper had one lying around out back and was willing to sell off some old stock for cheap). But no, there wasn't anywhere selling it, and even if they did, the price point was still $600. Feck that.
So I ended up stopping off at this little Korean cafe/restaurant, which used to be of Japanese persuasion and getting myself some fucking tasty chilli pork for the ownderful price of $9 with soup and two sides and water and rice. I kinda felt like writing alot of "ands" in that sentence. Then I headed off to see Brendan and Leanne at Hornsby. Got there mid-afternoon. The present that they had bought me was actually in three parts; Silent Night, Deadly Night parts 3, 4 and 5. What the fuck. Silent Night, Deadly Night was LAME, why the hell did they make so many sequels? Crazy motherfuckers. So I was totally stoked with that gift. They also got me the TV version of The Shining, which is apparently better than the Kubrick version. I don't know, as I've not seen the TV version yet. Hopefully I'll see it this weekend.
So that night Boggle and Jon came around, and we watched Mac and Me (which is a direct rip-off of ET, except likely sponsored by McDonalds, and lame. Really lame. They survive on Cola for Christ's sake!!), and Silent Night, Deadly Night 5 (coz it starred Mickey Rooney). I fell asleep. I think we watched something else... I don't remember what, as I fell asleep.
The next day Ross called us and decided that we should go on a picnic to West Head. I really like West Head. Fucken beautiful place. Jon couldn't make it (3d work to do), but the rest of us went. We bought Quiche, Pate, and assorted desserts. Boggle and I decided to buy some Rollmops, as we have been on a crazy food stint for a few weeks. They were alright. After lunch I was thinking that I'll probably never eat them again, but right now I feel like one. Funny that. I really feel like one actualy. Yeah, some herring would be nice. Anyway. Brendan was the only other one that tried it, and it took him alot of effort not to spew. Boggle and I didn't think they were that bad. So it was a lovely day. I ended up being dropped at Church Point, and headed home to spend the rest of my Sunday there, as well as Monday. It was actually really good. I expected to be bored out of my mind, but I managed to keep myself occupied the whole time, and even sorted some shit out in my head. I also slept fr 12 hours, just because I could, and I've felt refreshed ever since. It's great!
So Tuesday I went into work with Mum and Pete, and pottered about on the internet looking for cheap H340s, and ended up finding one on the buy/sell part of the forum I frequent the most (which is an iriver forum @ http://www.misticriver.net ). The guy was asking offers, and I asked US$250 shipped to Australia (he was in Hong Kong), and I got it! That's a mere AU$337 shipped to Botany (where work is)! Sweet! I think I might contact the seller and see if he can get the 60GB HDD for it cheap. That'd be sweet, coz I need that HDD.
So I'm fucking stoked with that, expecially as now I get the battery optimised RockBox! Fucken, fucken A! It'll be cool if it comes in the Carbon finish, rather than the Fractal too. The guy said that it should arrive by Tuesday. Let's hope it does so soon.
So that was about it in my week up until last night.
I decided to meet up with Jon for a few beers after he finished work (there was also a sale at JB, so I bought 5 CDs at about $10 each. This isn't the typical bargain bin sale either, they're clearing their old stock. Got me 2 Melvins albums, A Blood Duster album, A Jayhawks album and a Mark Lannegan album (he who sung on some QOTSA songs)). Anyway, I ended up spending my weeks money last night on beer and the cab ride home... so I'm broke this week. But I got an mp3 player! w00t!
This morning Mum was meant to be picking me up, and we were going to head to the Hunter (I was going to get a haircut too), but at 11:30am, Mum called me and told me that last night, on his way home from the pub, Peter fell into an un-covered stormwater drain and severely broke his ankle. He's currently in surgery and their fixing plates to it. That fucken sucks. What sucks more is that it's hid right ankle, so he can't even drive. And I can't fucking drive either, so it's now up to Mum to cart us around. Shit burgers I wish I had my licence. I think I'll just book it so I can help Peter get around. I feel pretty bad for him. He has 2 birthday parties this weekend, and some Shannon Noll concerts coming up which he'll be missing, so he's pretty pissed off about that. Funny thing though, he's been saying for the last week or so that he wants to break his wrist because they have cool casts. Did a bit better than that. At least the ladies at Mona Pub will want to nurse him next he's there.
So yeah. Poor Pete.
So, that's been my life since last post. Oh wait, not entirely, Sophie did message me the other day saying that she will call me soon, just as soon as time permits, so at least now I know that I've not been forgotten/put aside. Also, that champ chick, Tu (I don't know how to spell her name) that I met at Sublime messaged me the other day, so I now have her number, and will contact her next time a good concert is coming up... or maybe before then.
Ok, so that's my life up to this point. I'm now sitting at Jon's writing this, and I've been writing it for a few hours now. Mum will be picking me up some time this afternoon, and I'll head back to the Island for the night, and then up to the Hunter for the week maybe (of course this means that my mp3 player will be sitting at Botany for some time - and even if we do pick it up, I need to get back to the Island to actually load it with songs, and I need the 'net to update it to the latest RockBox. So it won't really be of use to me for a few weeks maybe. Bummed.).
So yeah.
Goodbye.

Lisetning to: Opeth - The Funeral Portrait (I LOOOVE Opeth!!)

Monday, July 17, 2006

Sublime

Went out to Sublime on Friday night. Good fun. There were a fair few people I knew there, so that was nice. It was originally meant as a final night out on the pills before Mike KP went of to his army duties. Unfortunately, last week Mike KP found out that he had his physical this week, and on the off chance that it will involve a drug test, he decided not to take anything. To my surprise, he still came, and had a great time anyway. It shouldn't be all that suprising, as he really likes that type of music, but to me a night out at Sublime is conducive to drug use. I'm stoked he came, and even more stoked he had a kickass time.
I worked Friday, and ended up getting to Mike S' place at about 5pm maybe. Had a bit too much dinner with him, and Mike KP and Leanne met us while we were eating it.
We caught a train in and met Denise at a pub on Pitt St (which I might add had a GORGEOUS barkeep).
We then headed to a bar closer to Home (ie the venue where Sublime is held), where we met Sarah and her friends. Then we headed over to the 20 minute line outside of the club. Mike KP left us temporarily to pick up a friend at Town Hall, but was back before we were inside. Luck of luck, some girl near me gave me a free entry pass! Sweet! Saved me up to $25! So the night was off to a great start.
We got in and dropped immediately (after buying the $4.50 water) as we were keen to start.
The night went off a treat, although my 2nd pill wasn't as strong as my 1st, but that could be because I waited too long to take it. We also met Ron and her boy Marty there.
Mike KP left at about 5am, but we left the club at just before 6am, and started the walk up to Town Hall (we being Mike S, Leanne, Denise and I). I thought I'd go visit Alex, as he was meant to be doing a job at Martin Place that morning, but after getting there with my mates, he was nowhere to be found. Turns out we were about 1/2 an hour too early. Oh well.
We walked back to Town Hall, and Denise still had 30 minutes until her bus arrived, so I gave her $10 as a thank you for the speed she gave me so that she could get a taxi.
The three of us remaining then caught a train back to Turramurra, and a taxi back to Mike's. We slept late; until 5pm or so. Brendan came over after work, and Leanne and I went and bought some stuff for dinner and went over to Brendan's house; Mike had a dinner to go to.
At Brendan's, Ross called and we were going to go to his house after dinner, but we watched Masters of the Universe (the He-Man spin off movie) while it was cooking, and had to finish the movie once we'd started it. Wow, what a shit movie. Really lame. But I must say, that it was worth the $2 Brendan paid for it.
Finishing the movie meant that we weren't able to consider going to Ross' until 10.30pm or so, and about this time Ross called us to see where we were. We told him we were too tired to make it over, but would go over for breakfast.
And indeed we did. What a breakfast! So big, so tasty! Filled me for most of that day. We then headed off to Mac Centre for CD shopping. When we got there, there was a Nintendo event happening. I registered for their mailing list, which entered me into the draw for a DS Lite. Would be kickass if I won it. I also got a Mario 20th anniversary phone strap. It sounds more interesting than it actually is, but I attached it all the same. I feel so Asian.
Ooh! Boggle bought a double movie pack for $2 from JB. It contains a movie with both Corey Haim AND Corey Feldman! Holy cow! And second to that, it's a tittie movie too! Crazy. The 2nd movie in the pack is of no consequence. So I feel that we paid 75c per Corey, and 50c for the other movie. A bargain anyway you look at it.
After leaving Mac centre, Brendan, Leanne and I went off to Bicentennial park and played soccer and hacky sack until Alex arrived to pick me up. I had to stay at his house last night, as he was being moved into the office today, and I was covering for him on the truck, of course, there was only one job today (which sucks). We had sausages for dinner, and watched Club Dread. A funny movie indeed, but Super Troopers is funnier.
And today I did very little. So that's it.
Goodbye!

Listening to: some whiny rock on JJJ (I'm in the truck on my way back from our only job)
--
This message was sent from my mobile.

Friday, July 07, 2006

Russian

Hey people!
I'm currently in Mum's office typing this, and I wish I thought of adding a post earlier because I don't think we'll be here for much longer.
Last night was the Russian dinner with Helen and (most of) the crew. That 'most of' consisted of (moving around the table as not to miss anyone) Linden, Ross, Jana, her boyfriend Ali, a friend of his (of an unknown name), Leanne, Brendan, Monique, Helen, Jon and I.
It was fucking brilliant. Expensive, but fucking tasty. Admittedly, not as filling as the Viking cuisine, but I'd say tastier (as would be hoped at near double the price for mains).
Damn, I want it tonight too. It was so goddamn tasty.
But anyway, the night itself was brilliant. Wonderful company, wonderful atmosphere, wonderful service, wonderful vodka and wonderful food. Brilliance!
Sooo... I had to work today on a potentially difficult job, but we did it with no issues. I will also be working on one job tomorrow morning at the Superdome, and then when I'm done there, I'm heading over to Jon's to meet the crew, and head up to my place. Unfortunately, much less people than I had hoped can actually make it - including Helen. So it'll be Jon, Boggle, Michael S and Leanne heading up with myself, and Denise will be coming up later, and I'm hoping Marty can make it too. I was hoping for more people... but it'll still be good. I don't think I'll light that bonfire though.
Realised today that we not only move from Scotland Island in about 5 weeks, but we also need to sell the Hunter House in about 6 weeks (if there is to be adequate time for a settlement) if we are to move into the Newport house (and not lose the 10% deposit). Fuck. So I need all the positive thought I can get for a quick sale. Seriously.
Next week I'll be going out to Sublime for a night of dancin with Michael, Michael and Denise. Should be kickass. Week after that is the eels concert (if it is still going forth, now that the venue has been declared bankrupt...) and on the same night is Denise & Kev's Housewarming party (they recently moved to Balmain). So I'll be heading to that after the concert, if it still goes forth. Otherwise I'll be spending the whole night there. Hey! Idea! Alex will be in Byron Bay when Denise's party happens, so what I reckon I'll do is get the keys for his apartment, and stay the night there, as it's pretty darn close! Sweet!
So I think that's it.
Until next time!

Listening to: Frank Zappa - Cheap Thrills (Album)

Saturday, July 01, 2006

Viking!

W00t! I'm currently sitting at Jon's house typing a breif entry into my blog to waste some time before we head out to the Viking restaurant in Newtown. Mmmm Viking. Well, I assume so at least, I can't say I even know what will even be on the menu... but I can't imagine it will disappoint.
So, who's going? Jon, Boggle, Ross, Leanne, Helen, Monique and I. I think that's it. Lookin' forward to it.
Last night we had a good ol' fashioned can up at Jon's. I'm not really drinking much anymore... it doesn't hold as much fun as it used to. I do still enjoy beer, don't get me wrong, but I don't really get drunk every weekend anymore. Save it for special events I suppose...
Also, on Wednesday night Brendan and Boggle came over to the Scotland Island house and we watched a whole heap of Kath and Kim, and Bad Eggs. Was enjoyable indeed. The next morning we went for a walk around the Island too. I like that walk - despite the scary house that we pass...
mmm yes.
Sophie is meant to be calling me sometime end of this weekend. I'm looking forward to moving into the 'friends' phase finally.
And time is pretty much up for us leaving to go out to dinner.
So farewell one and all,

Listening to: White Zombie - Blood, Milk and Sky

Tuesday, June 27, 2006

More Tool Love

Hey, guess what. I'm once again in bed listening to Tool's 10 000 Days, and I thought I should tell you folk that I Love this album. LOVE IT!
--
This message was sent from my mobile.

Saturday, June 24, 2006

George Washington

This is fucking awesome:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pc9y5ayeeb4
That is all.

Monday, June 19, 2006

Helen!

Yay! Helen's here!
She arrived last Wednesday, and I've seen her most days since her arrival. It's wonderful to see here again, and Ivan too. Unfortunately Ivan leaves next Friday, but at least we got to see him, and at least the others got to meet him/he met the others. Champ that guy.
So, what have we been up to? Drinking mainly. Alot of drinking. Mainly the city, but we have also drank at the Greengate and at North Sydney too. We were meant to go to the Russian restaurant on Saturday night, but apparently it's really busy, and we need to book ahead, so we're doing it in a few weeks time instead.
Bummed today. I had a driving lesson at 12:15pm, and was relying on Mum coming down from the Hunter to give me a lift to her work at Botany (where the driving lesson would be held), but she found more important things to do, and I'm still waiting at Jon's for her to pick me up - despite it now being 12:50pm. So obviously I've missed the driving lesson (at least Michael Boardman gave me one on Saturday), and I wanted to go to the Blue Mountains with Linden, Helen and Ivan today too, but didn't because of the driving lesson. Sucks. Well, I suppose I couldn't have really gone anyway because I'm flat fucking broke. Actually, I already owe both Jon and Helen $20 each. So, instead, I'm going in to Mum's work. Maybe there's a job I can do, and earn some money. Doubt it. What I am going to do though, is gind out what the fuck is happening with my Uncle replacing the stolen goods. I hope he wasn't bullshitting me; it's beginning to seem that way.
Oh, speaking of the stolen goods, I found out today that Rockbox for the iriver H340 has finally optimised battery life. A standard battery now gives up to 20 hours - and less than a week before mine was stolen I'd put in a high capacity battery. So that really sucks. I want an H340 again; they're better than a stinkin ipod. The only bummer is that if I were to replace my iriver, I would also have to purchase a 60GB HDD for it, as my last one was full. So that's why I'm getting an ipod instead - cheaper. Sucks. I want my H340.

Ooh, forgot to say. On Friday was the MC Lars, TZU and Butterfingers concert, and it kicked solid fucking arse! I bought an MC Lars T-Shirt, and his CD, and got the CD signed! Sweet! He was a dude!
TZU went fucking off (they owned the crowd), and did some mad freestyling/improv. I'd looove to see them again.
And Butterfingers were totally kickass. Great fun. And the Ska songs that appear on their latest album kicked fucken arse too! A great concert!
Went out for some drinks afterward, but couldn't afford much. We ended up getting home at 4:30am because of having to wait for the bus for an hour or so. Stoopid nightrider.
The next day was my driving lesson with Boardman, and the planned Russian dinner.
Instead of going to Russian we (Helen, Ivan, Ross, Jana, Jon, Boggle and I) went to a pub in North Sydney were we used to go to when Helen lived nearby. Ah, the memories.
I'd run out of money the night before, so I didn't drink much, so we didn't stay out late. But it was an enjoyable night.
I spent yesterday and last night bummin' around at Jon's, and in fact, that's what I'm still doing (although Jon is at work).
You know, I think that's it.
Until next time!

Listening to: Ween - Live in Chicago (Album)

Tuesday, June 13, 2006

Inspection

Another weekend gone. Well, this one was a loooong weekend, but it's still gone. It was spent up at the Hunter, preparing the house for a potential buyers inspection on Sunday afternoon. Fun.
Turns out that it wasn't even the potential buyer coming anyway; rather one of her friends - the potential buyer will come next weekend.
Despite that, we cleaned the house to look as schmick as possible, and the lady looking at the house loved it.
Also, Ross came up Sunday, and spent the night, which was jolly good of him.
Monday was market day in Wollombi, and Ross came along to the market too. It was there that Brendan and Leanne met up with us too. They ended up staying the night too (Ross went home in the afternoon), and today we went around the vinyards of Pokolbin. A lovely day.
So the potentially horridly dull weekend actually ended up being rather enjoyable.
Also, Helen comes in tomorrow. Which reminds me, I want to meet her at the airport tomorrow morning... but I need to get there. I better figure that out soon. I'm also working at 3:30pm at Central Station tomorrow too. Hmmm.
I've also got the Butterfingers concert on Friday night. This promises to be a good week. Now if only Sophie would call me...
So yeah, that update was pretty dull, but I was bored at Hornsby station and thought I'd do an update to pass the time.
There you go.
--
This message was sent from my mobile.

Thursday, June 08, 2006

No updates

Sorry that it's been so long; Mum told Telstra to fuck themselves, so we don't have a phone line at the moment, and no phone line means no internet. Sucks. Needless to say, I'm sending this from my mobile.
I'll give you a brief rundown of the weekends events, but it will be brief coz I can't really be bothered typing on the phone.
Was Boggle's birthday on Thursday, so we drank a fair bit at Brendan's place (stayed up till 6am). Then went out Friday to the city for Boggles birthday again. We went to The Clare to meet up with his Uni mates. Those that were there included Boggle (duh), Jon, Leanne, Ross and Tristan. We met up with Mickey S and some of his friends later too. Drank a fair bit that night too, and ended up getting back to Jon's at 6:30am.
Bummed around at Jon's all day Saturday with Boggle and Leanne (and Jon, duh), and met up with Brendan for dinner at Satay Queen. So cheap, so tasty.
Also bummed at Jon's the next day, but at least left the house to go see X Men 3 at Chatswood. Was pretty corny.
Oh, I also found out that the insurance company won't be covering my goods, as our policy doesn't cover theft outside of the house. The big bummer is that Mum was about to start a policy for the Scotland Island house that WOULD have covered theft outside of the house, but she couldn't afford it, so she didn't take it up. Sucks.
So my uncle is trying to find cheap replacements for some of the goods that were stolen from me, so I hope that works out.
Although since losing my iriver I've been reading more. I really do love reading. I just finished Bill Bryson's "Short History of Nearly Everything" for the second time, and as I said after reading it the first time, shit it's a good book. In read it. Absolutely fascinating.
Oh, I nearly forgot. We signed the contract for a house in Newport Beach on Tuesday morn. It's a cool little house, but the bedrooms are tiny. The best thing about it though is that it has a big downstairs room like our old house at Tuzza, which will be brilliant for entertaining. Sweet. Settlement isn't until 30th November though, so that we will have time to sell the Hunter house before we move (and have to pay for it).
So anyway, that's pretty much all that's going on in my life right now.
Until next time.

Sunday, May 28, 2006

Shit

She broke up with me.
Simple as that, it's over.
I think the biggest thing I feel right now is disappointment. I felt that there was so much potential in what we had, but Sophie felt that she just couldn't deal with a relationship right now, so that potential may never be realised. That fucking sucks.
I don't really see a relationship as stressfull, but she does, and that's what matters.
Neither of us wanted to lose each other, so we are going to remain good friends, and most of the dynamics of the relationship will remain the same (phonecalls, seeing each other etc), it's just that now there won't be the intimacy (and I suppose the intensity too). I hope I can adjust to that soon, and without any backlash.
So yeah, I'm fucking single again, and probably will be for some time. And that fucking sucks.