Wednesday, September 13, 2006

Over?

Just might have finally been given some work to do!
Not the usual stuff (Chris still hasn't given me my next unit), but Becca has found something for me to do. Kind of. She went to show me what it is that I have to do, when she found some errors in it. So now she's trying to fix them. While I sit here typing on my phone to alleviate some boredom. Yup.
--
This message was sent from my mobile.

AAAAH!

Still fucking waiting!

Still waiting...

Ok, so I didn't talk to Chris, as he was busy, and before he was free, Ben came over to give me some QC checks to do. I just finished them then. I go check to see if my new unit is ready, and... no. So I go to ask Chris if he can get it ready, and he's disappeared again.
Fun.
I hate being bored, even if I am getting $25 an hour for it.
--
This message was sent from my mobile.

Waiting for work

Here's how work works (so to speak). You're assigned work units. There generally take about 2-3 hours each (although I only got through 1 yesterday, so they can take alot longer), and when you're about 1/2 an hour from finishing, you sign up for more work. Sometimes this takes a little longer than half an hour.
So I signed up for work at about 11:45am today, and had finished all my work by about 12:30pm. So I go to check if my new unit is ready. Nope. So I decide that I'm hungry enough to go to lunch, which would effectively give Chris another 1/2 hour to get the unit ready.
When I got back from lunch at 1pm, the unit wasn't ready. And Chris was at lunch.
So I'm sitting here waiting for Chris to get back and get my unit ready.
Of course, by the time I typed all this up, Chris arrived back.
So I'm going to go hassle him for my next unit.
Oh, one more thing. I put a pre-order for the new DS Lite Black today. It is due for release the day I get paid, so I figure that's something close to a sign.
Later!
--
This message was sent from my mobile.

Adventures on the Train, pt 1

Yup, train trips are dull. I'm pretty happy that I get on at Thornleigh though, as I always get a seat. It'd suck having to stand.
So, what's interesting to look at on the train today? Certainly not the scenery. Any attractive ladies? I can't really be sure, as none are facing me.
What else?
There's one of those technology/lifestyle newspaper pull-outs on the floor, but I took a look at it earlier, and it was only "journalists" putting forth bias (read: paid) reviews of products I don't want/need/could make my own mind up on.
So what else?
I played Solitaire for a little while - as I do every train trip - but thought this activity had the potential to be interesting. I think I was wrong, and I'm pretty sure you're just as bored as I (What are you doing, Simon! The fourth wall! The fourth wall!).
Ha how funny is that, when I type wall, y2k comes up before I've typed the last "l" in wall. I wonder how often THAT has been typed across Nokias worldwide. Why freakin add it?
I was gonna bring a book today; I plum forgot (is that how you spell plum in this situation?). I don't know if I should bring my current State of The Universe(s) book (which is beginning to bore me, as I'm reading it so rarely), or grab the next Terry Pratchet book. Wow, such decisions. Isn't life hard?
Anyway, it looks like I've wasted enough time rambling; we just left Central.
Until next time.
--
This message was sent from my mobile.

Tuesday, September 12, 2006

Paranoia

How funny has the world become?
On the train I'm sitting across from a Middle Eastern looking guy. He's carrying a bag and he looks fidgety or nervous.
And this makes me nervous.
I blame the media (Well actually religion could take more of the blame for the situation... but I'm blaming the media for talking about it all the time).
That's all. Just thought I'd share a little moment of unjustified fear.

Listening to: Sopor Aeternus & The Ensemble of Shadows - The Vampyre Sucking at His Own Wound (an album by my favourite goth band. Love 'em!)
--
This message was sent from my mobile.

Saturday, September 09, 2006

Lilly

Have I betrayed my sex by purchasing Lilly Allen's album?
I really like it, but I feel that it is somewhat anti-male... so I'm not sure I should own it...
But I really like it.
Curse your infectious hooks Lilly!

Friday, September 08, 2006

After work drinks

Wow.
I'm pissed.
yup. I'm not going to deny it... I'm pretty darn close to pissed.
I had several drinks after work with my cohorts. And I am close to newted.
And then, when I got back to Jon's (although I should probably be addressing it as "home") I was pretty much a write off.
And then I went to the fridge and had my designated beer for the night - which was "le Guillotine" the 9.3% beer. So of course, my "close to newted" became "undisputedly newted."
It's fun.
So work is good. I like the people.
A guy I work with called Ben has fantastic taste in music (and also has tickets to theTool concert; remind me to tell you about an ebay auction involving Tool tickets... I just hope I hear you when you remind me)
So I'm stoked to be working with such good people. And of course the $25 an hour helps. Alot. And the flexible hours. So yeah. Ilike my job. The only fault is that I want one that goes somewher; and I don't think this one will.
Wow. I'm totally maggot.
I can't reallythink of anything else... and truth be told, it's difficult to type.
Farewell!

Listening to: The Mars Volta - De-Loused In The Comatorium (Speaking of which they're touring in December. Jon and I are keen to go.. and so is Ben (from work). Come one, come all.

Oh. The Tool tickets. Check this auction out.
Seriously. WHY DIDN'T I GET THESE!!??!!

Monday, September 04, 2006

Jobby job-job

Soooooooo. I worked today. Was good. The work seems easy, the office staff are friendly, the pay is actually $25 (not the previuosly thought $24), and the environment in cruisy.
The hours are flexible within set conditions:
I have to be at the office between 9:30am and 4pm, but I can arrive before 9:30am and leave after 4pm if I want. I can take lunch whenever I want, for as long as I want, just as long as it is at least 1/2 an hour, and I work at least 7 hours in a day, and no more than 40 a week. Easy.
It's located just behind Town Hall, so is very central, and every Friday we go out for drinks. Yeah. Tops. I got my ID card today, whereas other other people had to wait a week before they got theirs. Sick. I will be in training for about 2 weeks, but after that I will be completely independent. Hot stuff.
This evening, I also tried the first of the 6 beers that Ross bought me in congratulations on finally getting a job. I tried "Rolling Rock." A nice refreshing Pennsylvanian lager, light on the pallete, and completely inoffensive. I look forward to working my way up toward the stronger beers. Thanks Ross!
But the day wasn't all joy.
You may or may not have heard about Steve Irwin. He died today. It's funny that in the last few months I have been watching his show a fair bit and really enjoying it. I think it's very saddening that he died at the young age of 44. Here's to ya Steve!

Friday, September 01, 2006

Fuck YEAH!!

Just got a phone call from EBR (the recruitment agency), and they informed me that I GOT THE JOB!!
I start Monday, 10am. How hot is THAT!? Get paid fortnightly. Work Mon-Fri. I don't know if I start at 10am everyday, or just Monday... will find out.
Now I just need business shirts... don't own any. The shirt I had for the interview is a little too dressy. Just wanna get a nice business shirt. I don't think I'll wear a tie, as the two guys that interviewed me didn't.
Stoked.

Listening to: Tenacious D - Kielbasa (FUCK YEAH!!)